Knowledgebase: Web Site Related
How do I remove the Google Malware Warning message?
Posted by Support, Last modified by Support on 13 December 2012 02:46 PM
If your website becomes compromised by hackers, they may decide to upload malicious scripts to your site in an effort to infect visitors to your site with viruses or other malicious software. If this happens and Google indexes your site, they may detect these malicious scripts and assign a warning to your website that will show up next to any search results for your website or when you try to go to your web site domain directly. If this has happened to you, you can remove the Google malware warning relatively simply, though it will take some work to accomplish.

1. Clean your website's files using an old backup or by manually removing the malicious scripts that were placed on the website. Once the files are clean, re-upload them to your Web server using an FTP program. You can also send in a support ticket to us and we can restore your site from a backup or try to help you clean your files as a last resort.

2. Log into (or sign up for, if you don't have an account) Google's Webmaster Tools service. You will be presented with various options on how you can manage aspects of your website. If you have not signed up for this service before, you will not have any websites listed.

3. Add the website that you want to remove the Google malware warning from to your Google Webmaster Tools account. Download a special HTML file from Google Webmaster Tools when prompted, upload it to the root of your website, then press the "Verify" button on the Webmaster Tools account. Once your website has been verified, it will appear in your website list as having been verified.

4. Click on your website inside Google Webmaster Tools by selecting the site you want. Click Health, and then click Malware.You will be given an option to request a manual review of the site, and will be asked to ensure that all spyware and malicious scripts have been removed from your site. A review request may take a few days or longer to process, but once Google has verified that there is no more malicious software on the site, the malware warning will be removed.

(2 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful